Image description
Image description
Image description

Early Years Foundation Stage

The aim of the EYFS is to help young children achieve the five Every Child Matters outcomes: 

  • Staying Safe
  • Being Healthy
  • Enjoying and Achieving
  • Making a Positive Contribution  
  • Achieving Economic Well Being

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a principled approach delivered through four themes

Image description

The Curriculum


The EYFS curriculum consists of Early Learning Goals that are set out into three Prime areas of  learning  and development:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language.

And four Specific areas of learning and development:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding  the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These areas will be covered throughout the nursery day, the curriculum is delivered through play and the planned activities will be suitable for the stage each child has reached. The children will be stretched but not pushed beyond their capabilities so they can continue to enjoy learning.


The planning will be a balance between adult-led and child-initiated activities.

Ongoing observational assessments are carried out to inform planning for each child’s continuing development through play-based activities. Parents can follow their child's progress via Tapestry, an online Journal.


Children are encouraged to make choices and decisions about a range of activities they would like to be involved in throughout the day.


In the child’s last term with us the children will have visits to their new Primary School, to introduce the children to their new setting, staff and children. We will discuss this process with the children and talk to them about what they have been doing at school

Image description

Contact us: 

Image description

020 8451 1511

Image description